Language Arts
 
Our department prides itself on meeting all of our students’ needs. We teach to the standards and assess students’ mastery of the standards through Essential Skills Assessments which test taught skills students need to succeed in the academic world. Since each grade level utilizes the same Essential Skills Assessments, we are confident that each student receives essentially the same instruction, and they are held to the same high standard of achievement. This allows us to develop a progression of instruction which builds on the skills taught at each level.
 
We collaborate to continually revise our curriculum to better meet our students’ needs and confirm that our assessments are current and effective. Our goal is to inspire avid readers, critical thinkers, and effective communicators who are prepared for success in college.
 

Course List

  • Language Arts I/Advanced
  • Language Arts II/Advanced
  • Language Arts III/Honors
  • Language Arts IV/World Literature
  • AP Literature and Composition
  • Expository Reading and Writing Course (ERWC)
 
Staff List

Staff Listtitle

 Katelyn Alstot  kalstot@rocklinusd.org
 LA I Advanced, LA III, Exp/CA Lit 10
 Emilie Cavolt  ecavolt@rocklinusd.org  LA I, LA III Honors
 Jennifer Davis  jdavis@rocklinusd.org ERWC
 Tiffiny Feuerbach  tfeuerbach@rocklinusd.org  LA II Honors
 Patrick Gale  pgale@rocklinusd.org
 AP Lit/Comp, ERWC,
AP Seminar
 Ali Goodrich agoodrich@rocklinusd.org LA I, ERWC, 
 Meredith Kane  mkane@rocklinusd.org  LA I, LA III, Lit Lab
 Liz Lloyd elloyd@rocklinusd.org LA II, LA III, 
 Denae Moore  dmmoore@rocklinusd.org  LA II, LA III
 Thor Samson  tsamson@rocklinusd.org  LA II, LA III
 Elizabeth J. Sturgeon  ejsturgeon@rocklinusd.org  LA I,LA III
 Emily Thomas  ethomas@rocklinusd.org  LA I, LA II
 
 
Scope and Sequence

Scope and Sequencetitle

Language Arts Courses Sequence
 
"Writing and understanding Literature is perhaps the greatest accomplishment man can achieve, as it is the secret to gaining Knowledge."   
          - Walt Whitman