Language Arts

Our 12-member department prides itself on meeting all of our students’ needs. We teach to the standards and assess students’ mastery of the standards through Essential Skills Assessments which test taught skills students need to succeed in the academic world. Since each grade level utilizes the same Essential Skills Assessments, we are confident that each student receives essentially the same instruction, and they are held to the same high standard of achievement. This allows us to develop a progression of instruction which builds on the skills taught at each level.
 
We collaborate to continually revise our curriculum to better meet our students’ needs and confirm that our assessments are current and effective. Our goal is to inspire avid readers, critical thinkers, and effective communicators who are prepared for success in college.
 

General Information

 COURSE LIST
  • Language Arts I/Advanced
  • Language Arts II/Advanced
  • Language Arts III/Honors
  • Language Arts IV
  • World Literature
  • AP Literature and Composition
  • Course Catalog (pdf)

Staff List

 Katelyn Alstot  kalstot@rocklinusd.org  LA III, LA I Advanced
 Amanda Bannister  abannister@rocklinusd.org  LA III, LA I Advanced
 Erica Canup  ecanup@rocklinusd.org  LA III  
 Emilie Cavolt  ecavolt@rocklinusd.org  LA I, LA III Honors
 Jennifer Davis  jdavis@rocklinusd.org  LA IV, Learning Center LA
 Tiffiny Feuerbach  tfeuerbach@rocklinusd.org  LA II Advanced, LA IV
 Patrick Gale  pgale@rocklinusd.org  LA II, AP Lit/Comp
 Kimberly Karver  kkarver@rocklinusd.org  LA I, LA IV
 Thor Samson  tsamson@rocklinusd.org  LA II, LA IV
 Elizabeth J. Sturgeon  ejsturgeon@rocklinusd.org  LA I
 Emily Thomas (Zenoni)  ethomas@rocklinusd.org  LA II

Scope and Sequence

 
"Writing and understanding Literature is perhaps the greatest accomplishment man can achieve, as it is the secret to gaining Knowledge."   
          —Walt Whitman