skip to main content
CTE
Mission Statement

Mission Statement

The Whitney High School Career and Technical Education Pathways offer students a unique perspective into a field of study that they might want to pursue upon their graduation from Whitney.
 
The classes listed below adhere to the CTE guidelines set forth by the California Department of Education.
 
Students completing the pathway will have the opportunity to achieve specific competencies in that area of study, earn a program certificate and/or pre-apprenticeship certification, develop an industry specific portfolio, display a special graduation cord, obtain an internship with a local business or on campus, travel to conferences and/or competitions, receive college credit (dual enrollment) in some classes, and establish a professional on-line presence. No matter what your future holds (four year college, junior college, trade school, or career), set yourself apart from the crowd and take part in the Whitney CTE pathways.
 
Program Administrator: Justin Cutts
 
Location: Administration Building
Phone: 916-632-6500
Email: jcutts@rocklinusd.org

Social Media:
Twitter - @Whitney_CTE
 
Career and Technical Education Facts

Career and Technical Education Facts

1. Learn real-world 21st century skills that make students career and college ready.

2. Courses meet a-g requirements for entrance into the UC college system.

3. Students learn skills like: critical thinking; communication; teamwork; leadership; research tools; creativity; and innovation.

4. Students who complete rigorous academic core with a career concentration are more likely to pursue postsecondary education; have a higher GPA in college; and are less likely to drop out the first year of college.

5. CTE courses increase engagement in school by involving students as decision-makers and “owners” of their education process.

Source: http://www.cde.ca.gov/ci/ct/gi/cteschoolleaderfacts.asp
 
Staff List

Staff List

Jenny Armas jkarmas@rocklinusd.org Child Dev I, Child Dev II
Ben Barnholdt bbarnholdt@rocklinusd.org Broadcast Journalism
    Culinary I
    Comp Sci I/II/III, AP Comp Science
Mike Gimenez mgimenez@rocklinusd.org Sports Med I/II/III
Alex Anderson aanderson@rocklinusd.org Accounting, Intro to Business, Emp ETR
Bret Hunter bhunter@rocklinusd.org BITA I, II, Bita III/IV/DE
Rachel Jaeger rjaeger@rocklinusd.org Sports Med I/II
Whitney Lum wlum@rocklinusd.org Graphic Design I/II/III/IV
Brian Cramer
 
Culinary II/III
Sarah Nichols snichols@rocklinusd.org Publications II/III/IV/H, Graphics I
 
kgideon-parker@rocklinusd.org
kgideon-parker@rocklinusd.org